

201 Chicago Avenue Minneapolis, Minnesota 55415 Tel: (612) 928-6100 Fax: (612) 454-2744

AAN.com

President Carlayne E. Jackson, MD, FAAN San Antonio, Texas

President Elect Natalia S. Rost, MD, MPH, FAAN, FAHA Boston, Massachusetts

Vice President Janis M. Miyasaki, MD, MEd, FRCPC, FAAN Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

> Sarah M. Benish, MD, FAAN Minneapolis, Minnesota

Treasurer Charles C. Flippen II, MD, FAAN Los Angeles, California

Immediate Past President Orly Avitzur, MD, MBA, FAAN Tarrytown, New York

Directors Wayne E. Anderson, DO, FAHS, FAAN

San Francisco, California Jennifer Bickel, MD, FAAN Tampa, Florida

Bruce H. Cohen, MD, FAAN Chair, Advocacy Committee Akron, Ohio

Gregory J. Esper, MD, MBA, FAAN Atlanta, Georgia

Larry B. Goldstein, MD, FAAN, FAHA Lexington, Kentucky

Lily Jung Henson, MD, MMM, FAAN Stockbridge, Georgia

> Shannon M. Kilgore, MD, FAAN Palo Alto, California

Brad C. Klein, MD, MBA, FAAN Chair, Medical Economics and Practice Committee Abington, Pennsylvania

Jeffrey C. McClean II, MD, FAAN San Antonio, Texas

José G. Merino, MD, MPhil, FAHA, FAAN Editor-in-Chief, Neurology® Washington, DC

Nimish A. Mohile, MD, FAAN Chair, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee Rochester, New York

> Bruce I. Ovbiagele, MD, MSc, MAS, MBA, MLS, FAAN San Francisco, California

> > José H. Posas, MD, FAAN New Orleans, Louisiana

Maisha T. Robinson, MD, MSHPM, FAAN Chair, Member Engagement Committee Jacksonville, Florida

> Non-voting Board Member Mary E. Post, MBA, CAE Chief Executive Officer Minneapolis, Minnesota

September 30, 2024

Dear Resident and Fellows Section,

The American Academy of Neurology (AAN) expresses support for the AMA Resident and Fellows Section (RFS) endorsement of Dr. Daniel Lee, MD for the resident member to the Board of Trustees.

Since becoming a member of the American Medical Association (AMA) in 2018, Dr. Lee has shown strong dedication to the AMA and its mission. In 2020, he was elected as a Regional Alternate Delegate to the AMA House of Delegates for the Medical Student Section. He later served as the Vice Speaker of the AMA Medical Student Section for the 2020-2021 term, acting as the sole medical student on the AMA House of Delegates Resolution's Committee to assess the urgency of resolutions during the COVID-19 Pandemic. Subsequently, he was elected as the RFS Chair for the Committee on Medical Education for the 2022-2023 term.

Dr. Lee has remained actively involved with the AMA, serving as the RFS member to the Council for Medical Education from 2023 to 2025, and as the RFS Sectional Delegate sponsored by the AAN since 2023. In addition, he has participated in advocacy efforts within the AAN, such as our recent Neurology on the Hill event, and is a member of the 2024 BrainPAC Trainee Work Group. With his extensive experience, deep understanding of the AMA, and strong dedication to advocacy, Dr. Lee is a highly qualified candidate to serve as the resident member to the Board of Trustees. The AAN wholeheartedly supports the RFS endorsement of Dr. Lee's candidacy to this position.

Sincerely,

Carlayne Jackson

Carlayne E. Jackson, MD, FAAN President, American Academy of Neurology